You Can Give Yourself A Gift of Patience

To have patience or not is still an art that has to be mastered. Patience is  what we exhibit in our daily life wherever we are. It takes a lot to be patient whether we understand how it works or not to achieve greatness. One of the early lessons  I learned from reading the voyages of discovery was seeing how tough and impatient some of the early discoveries were. Some ran out of patience before they could make it to their next point of destination, while others like Christopher Columbus waited patiently until he helped to discover America. Part of life is to exhibit patience in everything that we do.

Messages of patience is nothing new; even Isaac Newton said it, “If I have ever made any valuable discoveries , it has been owing more to  patient attention, than to any other talents.”

Patience is  a gift that not everyone possesses. Even people that are gifted naturally often lose it if there is too much pressure coming from the realm.

One of the things I have learned along the way is that the ways in which people process information is different. People work according to their own pace. As patient as anything else, writing is soothing  if it comes naturally too.

One of my best wishes in life is patience. Just like patience, writing comes from the heart; it does not come because someone is teaching  you how to write; if not, I am sure everyone would have  been an outstanding writer. Writing comes with impulse. You can also write what you have experienced in your life. You can equally help people to write their own books too if you so desire. So please take your time, let go of any kind of pressure, and release the impulse.

Patience I found out is hard to come by now. In the world today, we want everything so soon that it conflicts with our daily interactions. We even want it so bad that it conflicts with our moral values. Impatience happens  also when we  run around for the wrong reasons. It is possible too when we follow what is trending and not as one sees it. For me, the only thing that drives me to the parts unknown is my inability to understand all the mind boggling with technology. I will accept that it has made me to look for help. My biggest pride if you know me is my ability to have patience. There is no way an impatient person will continue to learn what he or she is struggling with; most times, people do not have time to wait.

Talking about patience, if you have not told a child  to stop seven times; evidently too you may not make sense of what it takes to be patient with children; if you doubt that too “why do some babysitters eventually wind up in jail?. Not because they  do not have the type of patience you and I have, but patience has a lot to do with impulses. Dictionary defines it as an impelling force. A sudden wish or urge that prompts an unpremeditated act or feeling.

Talking about impatience, a friend of ours left his practice to go and teach a lecture on the topic  of patience to some college students. What drove him to do that became a puzzle not until everyone knew that he was going to jail the next day.

By going to jail, that means he will leave his practice for a while. As a doctor his duty is to protect lives, but on this day, he  ran out of  patience and accidentally hurt a passerby. He was speeding; he knew that he could have slowed down but wasn`t thinking until the accident happened. According to him, he would do anything to take that day back. He thought that the pain of going to jail especially when one has not condition him or herself  to the jail environment can become very unsettling.

I met a young girl recently who told me that she was so impatient with her mother that she decided to move out of her home. While on her own she found out that she will need extra money to pay her rent. From paying her rent, she dropped out of school. Yet she has not finished. Like she said Nov 9th would have being 6 years she dropped out of school. To her, the problem has just begun. She wished she could have waited to complete her studies. Life is a roller coaster if you believe in it. I said, “How can you get your life back? What will it take you to change your life?”

Effects of Impatience

  1. When we are impatient, it changes how we process information. I do not know about you, but whenever I become anxious or impatient, it affects the ways I think. Sometimes I have learned to shut down my own computer and take a long walk or fall asleep.
  2. When we are impatient, it keeps us moving in a fast direction. For example, you will be doing everything, yet you are not achieving anything.
  3. When we are impatient, it makes things harder than they seem. For example, children are becoming so impatient with their parents that they are moving in with their friends. Impatience creates anxiety that normally will not be there. Impatience gives us an unplanned schedule that we will later regret

1 Impacts of Patience

2 But with patience, we can weigh-in other options and choose from the best.

3 With patience, we can learn new things and see how it goes.

4 With patience we may find mistakes along the way, especially in our relationships.

5 With patience we can finish our classes and wait for a better job. I encourage you to be patient in all the things you do.  Without patience, one may go the wrong way at the wrong time,

Let the world be at peace now; the only place we will only know. Let us  create words that keep us at peace and not at war, a place where no human can falter. But a world where every soul will flourish, may you inspire someone today. May your voices create peace in the universe.

2 thoughts on “You Can Give Yourself A Gift of Patience

  1. Patience is something I too have written about… and while I suppose there are times when I lack it… for the most part the good Lord seemed to grant me it… I guess I learned from my mother… Diane

    1. I really love the idea that nothing good comes easy. It is good to have patient but, sometimes it is hard to keep up with so much. But over all, I am so impress with what I have been through and still hold on so much. It is hard Diane, How is everything. Love your help and understanding.

I welcome any comments