Thinking Globally Might Be Actually Good For you.

According to Urban Dictionary thinking globally means that “a country, company, university or individual thinks not just in term of their own existence and prosperity but they realize that people are now more connected worldwide than ever before via information technology and  that what they do have, not only impacts worldwide but also has the capacity to improve the lives of those in far flung corners of the world”.

There are some topics I do not like to go into details about because I usually leave it for the experts to talk about. I hate topics like global issues because I am still confused about many changes that had taken place over time. I started blogging thinking my blog was still in Phoenix where I had my computer; it took me three months to realize that I was on the World Wide Web. Secondly, I thought all Nigerians on my Facebook were all living in the United States, until they told me they were still in Africa. I was shocked that the world is closer than I supposed.   My strength is in poetry, going to college for 16 years( which seems like forever), having children, and empowering others .

.

 But recently a lot has happened. Our kids are 13, 10/1/2, 8, and five. In trying to avoid filling their brains with all that did not matter to them at young age, we stayed clear of so many topics. Topics like Africa as a whole and Nigeria in particular, slavery, racism, injustice, and stereotype. We always let them figure out the world by themselves. But the bad side of not teaching your kids things yourself is that they will learn it somewhere regardless. Guess what? Our kids know about Africa but only know the poor Africa where people take showers with a bucket. They know that there are plenty of roaches, monkeys, and animals in Africa.  They vowed that they will not go to Africa until they are ready.

As parents, it is imperative to help our children to diffuse some myths about Africa, poverty, racism, and stereotypes. One fascinating thing I have come to know is that most children now get their information on TV. They know more than you think they know.  As soon as they see any African picture with children carrying a bucket, they automatically assume that is all of Africa. They know so much even when you hate to teach them about race and all that has nothing to do with them.

 I am just like them too. Growing up in Africa, I had these similar myths that there is nothing that could be done about Africa; I also wrote a poem based on what I experienced as a child, called Children of Africa. But the best part of writing is that you use a past history to remind people about what was wrong and how you hope that things will change. Does it mean that corruption will go away in Africa? No because there are still things you see and believe that they have a long way to go.

 Then there are other areas of improvement and all one will do is give credit to this entire people who started this movement of elevating children from suffering. If I hadn’t come to America, I would have still been stuck in a place not knowing what was wrong with me. Sometimes children are born into different circumstance that they were unaware of but we still have to give them the opportunity to survive. We need to give them an opportunity to do something right for others to achieve success.

Talking about improvement, in the early 70s most Africans did not have a way of getting their green cards which could have allowed them to travel. Usually, a green card gives one an opportunity to travel in and out of the United States. A green card gave them the opportunity to work hard, live a decent life in America. Without a green card no one could achieve great success. Before, most Africans carried all their families’ financial burdens. They sent money home despite all the challenges they faced.  Later as their status began to change, they began bringing their siblings over from Africa. I was one of those siblings who came because my sister was already living in the United States.  When those siblings came, they started to help others. That means their older brothers now got a break; with time more people came over. With more people coming over, things began to change; those who were here too took their knowledge back home. They became professors in African colleges; they started transferring their knowledge making Africa a stronger Nation. They started helping those with corrupt minds with how things are done. What you and I knew before does not matter as they are myths and not really facts. Things had changed.

How can we help our children to understand that helping someone is good because it will create more opportunities for others?   It will make their own job easy too. I am sure if children took care of themselves, their parents would have a break too. Looking at three myths from Bill and Melinda Gates will help you diffuse those ideas. Things have changed so I heard. Many African countries are doing great in terms of poverty, but it is not in my power to convince anyone that Africa is getting more work done now.

As an African myself, I have not really done a good job in explaining to  my children  what other good things that could come from Africa  if things were in order. I get it that things have changed, but it will it will also require more knowledge which will go beyond what is in a paper. Recently our children started making crafts from yard sale which I bought for  50 cents to be precise. The crafts looked so good and well-organized that I started to navigate how they can go to Africa and share some of their works.

 Now having come from Africa, I was skeptical at first because I know it will take a lot of money and preparation if I have to involve my kids. How I see Africa is totally different from how others see it. I see it from my personal narrative. Things I wished   that were there. How corruption took over.  I do not think it was advisable traveling with the children with less than enough money.  Africa has changed from all the things we now know. This article from Bill and Melinda Gates can help anyone to make a good decision on that. Things have changed. We need inspirations from everyone. We can thank all the people of the world for making the world a better place. The world is becoming closer. Thinking globally, according to Peter Kivistos, is one of the key ideas in sociology.” Looking towards  the global future”. How we can share ideas, learn from one another. Just like Kivisto said it in his book,, “what the future held in store for you at the dawn of the Twenty –First century? A brief look backward indicates how different is today from what it looked like at the beginning of the twentieth century. The sheer tale and scope of change renders this century distinct from its predecessor”.

In adding to what you know before, you can read this article from Bill and Belinda Gates about the Three Myths that block progress for the poor.

 1 Myth One:  Poor countries are doomed to stay poor. I think people worry about corruption when it comes to African stability. People hear more about corruption in Africa than other good things happening over there.

2 Myth Two:   Foreign Aid is a big waste of money: Recently a lady told me that she is tired of being a big brother to foreign nations. She hated the idea that the federal government is wasting their money on foreign Aid. What she does not know is that the world is changing a lot. We have more people who will give anything to come and live here work and gain knowledge. The more people gain knowledge the more they are willing to help others..

3 Myth Three: Saving lives leads to over population. This is a big lie.

How things have changed over the years will bring happiness to our hearts. Talking about “Wind of Change” , without sociology, things would have been different. . One of the key ideas in sociology is how we can share ideas, share knowledge, borrow language and learn from one another, produce more teachers to go across border and teach. Just like Bill and Melinda Gates said here. According to them, “Countries will learn from their most productive neighbors and benefit from innovations like new vaccines, better seeds, and the digital revolution. Their labor forces, buoyed by expanded education, will attract new investments”.  It is time again to think globally. Think Oneness. Your input means so much. Thank you for reading.

4 thoughts on “Thinking Globally Might Be Actually Good For you.

  1. Thinking and teaching our children about the world and other countries, cultures and habits… I believe is so important so that we don’t only ever worry about ourselves and what’s going on in our lives… We need to think about others and when possible help those in more dire straits than we are…. Diane

    1. I think It makes the world easy to look at. Before, I always thought of charity as a bogus plan, but I have come to understand why people do what they do. It is very important especially now that technology has brought people together. One good help turns into a fulfilled dream. Thank you Diane for all you have done for me. I could not be blogging here without all your plans fro me. I am grateful for you

  2. teaching our kids from a global point of view is the biggest step we can take to eradicate racism, sexism, and any other form of bias and discrimination. We judge one another negatively because we don’t know and fully understand each other. Studying other cultures, values, and ideals will help us over time to embrace each other more. Once we do, we can learn not only to merely tolerate others but to actually value them and love people deeply and unconditionally.

    1. Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. That is exactly what it is; even as someone who has spent chunk of my life here in the classroom , there is so much we do not even know about ourselves. There is an honest discussions we need to have for us to move beyond all these issues. It is huge and we totally need to understand each other more: whether we are here,globally ,and even if it is a nationwide discussions..

I welcome any comments

