Our Kids,Their Time Is Different:The Real Cost of Raising A Child

The real cost of raising a child

It feels almost like the day is moving very fast, so fast that it is hard to catch up with things going on in our children’s lives these days. Department stores are not helping anyone either. The real cost of raising children cannot actually be determined . I have heard this question over and over? what is the actual cost of raising a child? Well it all depends on each individual . Prices kept skyrocketing. The first time we went back to Forever 21 to shop for my 12 year Old’s clothes from a year that we were there last, I found out that they have less and less children’s clothes now. Most of the clothes in their store are all missed up; they are for both adults and their preteens if you would like to call it that way. It totally means you and your mum can shop at the same store, same department of similar clothes. It’s weird, isn`t it? There is barely a small section for teenagers now.

Then we started shopping for her,  after  dressing her in those clothes , she no longer resembled the same 12 year old that I voluntarily took to the store, a girl that I have in my house. She was almost like a girl I used to know. Pretty tall and walks very tall, I am not kidding; I do not think that those clothes were meant for their age. But it fits anyway. “Was she the same girl who went into the store just a minute ago?”  I asked. What is she wearing in her legs I asked?. Those shoes are dangerous. What if she fell of those heels? Nobody was listening.

She looked so transformed that I wanted to take everything back. But I do not think you can do that. Because that store does not accept any return item unless you get a store credit which is to say you will still shop here anyways and nowhere else. Once you leave the store that is it. They have shoes now that are mostly high, higher, and now they are at least six inches above the ground, and those are the ones she wants. They even have the ones they called Gaga shoes, and she wanted all of them, not even worrying about how she is going to walk on them. I am still in disbelieve that most stores are coming up with new ways, new ideas to get all these kids in their shops. On march 17th similar issue surrounding Victoria secrets  attempt  in targeting 7th graders came up .

But the issue here now is that kids are no longer the kids of yesterday. I do not think anyone had imagined it would come to this. Whether you are feeling it or not, it is happening so fast, quick and unstoppable. And I am feeling it too: it feels like rockets have been thrown at us.

I could not remember if things had moved so fast during the time I was growing up. Even if did, which I do not think so, probably it did, but the difference was that the heels on the shoes in our generation were moderate, simple and not complicated. The electronics at that time, if there was any, was not easy to come by. I don’t think we have four items on a shelf that gives so much comfort all at once in our time like we have them now. (Depending on which generation you are from). Can this be the actual cost of raising a child?

Why are their shoes getting taller now? Will it be to please the height disadvantage people?. Could it be for expression? Could it be for motivation? Has anyone taken a stroll to the department stores recently. Has anyone seen those shoes I am curious? How much  money can one have now before we start having children. Help me discuss this issue. There should be a great connection between Victoria secrets and Forever21. My daughter loves them both. She hear so much about them which I do not have any control from her school.

But this was Amy Ger wing`s take on that in March

” Victoria’s Secret is ready to sacrifice our daughters’ innocence, compress their childhood, and devalue their self-worth all for the purpose of bolstering their sales” .

But you got to be kidding me said  Stuart Burgedoerfer their chief financial officer answered back  ,” They want to be older, and they want to be cool like the girl in college, and that`s part of the magic” Recently I could not agree with him more. I have seen so much restlessness on this little kids. This is how  getting job early in life may starts so quickly for those of them whose parents can  not afford the clothes.

. Recently I quickly had my daughter now on a waiting list to move her to a another middle school  with a uniform . The distractions are beyond us right now . She spend so much hours dressing up. That pretty one as they refer to her is no longer fun for me. It is happening so fast.  Does anyone have similar issue like I do?

“They want to be older, and they want to be cool like the girl in college, and that’s part of the magic.”
Read more at http://theblacksphere.net/2013/03/victorias-secret-is-coming-for-your-middle-schooler/#iCPLK2iIF1YP0F9C.99
“They want to be older, and they want to be cool like the girl in college, and that’s part of the magic.”
Read more at http://theblacksphere.net/2013/03/victorias-secret-is-coming-for-your-middle-schooler/#iCPLK2iIF1YP0F9C.99
“They want to be older, and they want to be cool like the girl in college, and that’s part of the magic.”
Read more at http://theblacksphere.net/2013/03/victorias-secret-is-coming-for-your-middle-schooler/#iCPLK2iIF1YP0F9C.99

VictoriasSecret2

“Our daughters are precious, intrinsically valuable and deserve better — they deserve to be cherished and protected.

http://theblacksphere.net/2013/03/victorias-secret-is-coming-for-your-

middle- middle-schooler

Here also a sample of what Forever 21 looks like

http://www.forever21.com/Product/Category.aspx?br=f21&category=whatsnew_all&utm_source=Facebook&utm_m

2 thoughts on “Our Kids,Their Time Is Different:The Real Cost of Raising A Child

  1. You are right time and fashion and children growing up too fast ..seems to be the way it is right now. They are so anxious to grow up and then they will realize when they get a bit older that they should have taken a bit miore time…. Diane

    1. I do not know what I will do without your wisdom. I have been allover the place but nothing compares when You have somebody who actually read your blog. Thank you so much. Fashion is the reason most kids are not doing well at school. They do not care either,

I welcome any comments

