My Tribute To National Poetry Month

As a young girl growing up without my mother, one of the things that helped me through it all was my love for poetry and my God. It started back from home, where all I had left was hope  and my abilities to succeed as a young girl growing up in midst of chaos. There was so much confusion, especially when there had been too many peoples’ input. In my life, I had to move from one house to another; as someone who had many uncles, each house was different, then each lesson learned from each house was different too. So oftentimes, there was confusion in remembering all the rules from all these different houses. But my pain was far from  being over, pain from not knowing what would happen, it became more painful when I was looking for closure. That’s how I got involved with poetry.

For me, poetry has soul, it has rhythm, and for the most part, it is very consoling. As years have gone by, I have continued to invest in poetry. Why? Because it is very easy to shed tears of joy or sadness.

Recently during National Poetry Month, oftentimes there is a confusion about poetry which to me should not be. I think suffering sometimes leads  someone to obtaining wisdom that other people may not understand. In life, it easy to talk about what you know than when somebody else explains it to you. Also, as humans, we can only explain what we can to people but know that we can never get it right. We cannot have it both ways. We will be judged by it, especially with our honest intentions.

I know some people will be questioning  my love for religion when I can still lament on the pains I went through with my own writing. If you ever lived in my world, it would probably make more sense; it is real and almost cost me a lot. I have never had a dificult life as a child, but I have seen people go through so much.

How I escaped suffering was that I always sought advice from people that are more knowledgeable than myself. I always seek protection too from God. I may not be preaching the Gospel here, but I am a very religious person. But anyway, this is the best advice I thought I had cherished throughout this month of poetry. Advice to  Young Poets, even for people like me who are trying to publish their poetry, try to be hilarious. Have a sense of humor about it.

I Blog Because Poetry Cannot Be Serious.

picasso

Advice to a Young Poet

  by Carl Phillips – See more at: http://www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/23506#sthash.pm2fqMVb.dpuf

Postcard: Advice to a Young Poet

picasso3

/www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/22946#sthash.dwzc7zDI.deEkdENG.dpuf

picasso2

picasso4

by Cynthia Cruz

http://www.poets.org/images/post_cruz525.jpg

Listen only to the small voice.

 

© 2013, Academy of American Poets. All Rights Reserved.

3 thoughts on “My Tribute To National Poetry Month

    1. Thank you so much. I can rely on your wisdom, and other people that have helped me throughout my life time. Help a child to grow in a proper way. I remain grateful to everyone that has contributed in one way or the other in making my dreams come true.
      Thanks for reading

I welcome any comments

