As The World Turns, Catch Me If You Can

Why we should be afraid of our children’s generation?

So now, here is the deal. All the new things are surfacing themselves around our kids and their generation: There are four things happening at once. Let’s not forget that in the beginning, there were rules and guidelines. There was also time for everything, a time to read, and time set out to play with our toys. In our mothers’ generation, there were more times spent practicing their spelling. There was also time to do real mathematics without calculator “people.” By then the older generation was not listening to music that has explosive lyrics on them either. Time then was peaceful, quiet, and moved in a slower pace, and people of that generation, whether they are mine or the ones before ours, all generations, were happy to follow direction. Talk things over, for one thing, they do not want to create chaos to their own parents. Do you think this generation is worried about all that? Really? Do they even want your opinion? No, because they knew everything before they were already born? This will resonate well with mothers, and  I am a mother too. Now we are talking, “Excuse us.”

In Grandma’s generation, not even ours, because I cannot vouch for my own generation either, they were also thinking about the right guy in the church and married to be happy ever after. Now the story has changed, shifted, remodeled, rehabilitated, adjusted, and configured to fit the mood in the world today. They call it, “contagious love.” Give me some love in the “CLUB” is the New vocabulary. “Move over, we are so over the 70s. I will run you over(Bitch)  if you are in my way. Move over mother.” These are in the newest dictionaries of our children. In our grandma’s generation, they were happy to learn how to sew clothes  because they believed that they could become grandmothers someday to help out with the little ones.

During their time too, they knew the importance of writing because your writing tells a lot about who you are actually. They practiced their arithmetic (if you like, call it, “Math”) because they will use it to teach their grandchildren and also help their generation.

Now here is the problem; this generation’s problem is far from over.  They have all the things that make them happy, selfish, and eager to blow up when we deprive them of all their comforts. I heard this new, scary song that was talking about crashing her car in a bridge, She went on to compare the time between the 70s and the 90s as two different worlds. Evidently she is suggesting that even the 70s is old. I wonder what would happen if she felt the need to go back to the 80s because for myself speaking I am from the 60s, I feel I sound old sometimes. But remember we in the 60s still have the wisdom passed on to us from the 50s; get that right.

Now we should all be scared because I do not think we are raising the kind of children now that will appreciate and love being just the grandmothers we all wanted and cherished all our lives. The children of these generation want to fly

Four things happening at once: There is Skype. Whether you have a laptop or not, this is where our kids spend countless hours talking face to face on the computer with their friends. Most times, an average talk lasts up to 2 hours depending on who is at home.

Then there is Instagram. This is the most confusing of all; here I know most parents like me are confused about what it does. What is the purpose for it? What is it, or why are they using it to begin with? But I have seen my daughter taking pictures of her hair, her shoes, and her bags on Instagram, and it takes an average of 30 to 40 minutes, if everything goes as planned.

There are Android phones: Android is a phone that has no business being in their possession, but hey, they are still around and all kids want everything Android in their fast moving generation. I remember when my 12 year old was trying to pressure me about a phone, an Android phone, so that she can text all her friends. I was not buying that idea, and I told her that whoever told her that she will have everything she wants in life is telling her lies; there is no hope if things continue with this turn of events. Somebody help me to understand what I have just said. Because as the world turns, who is it going to affect? I was wondering, what happened?  Well I think many more kids whose parents cannot afford all these things will eventually; either quit their schools or get a job in order to buy Android just to know what it feels to belong. But I promise you no one will even care, because your education is more important than trying to fit in.

There is also a book called Pretty Little Liar. Here is where I need help because I hope this  book is not what I am thinking. I want to know what this book is all about. If you have an idea, please let me know.

Now here is how this all entwines together. Life is beautiful, wonderful. Exciting, fulfilling and it is all about how one sees it. If you are young, there is so much you can do with your time; there is so much you can learn. I was listening to K love (Christian Radio Station) on Tues day April the 5th. On this day, a high school teacher was saying that children now are less hopeful, more than they were 10 years ago. And I wrote in my blog that the world is moving faster than it was 15 years ago.

As a parent myself, It is so sad that a lot of children are not expecting this turn of events. They have too many distractions with all the gadgets. Their parents cannot afford to buy everything they all need; for some people, their family can afford it, especially if they have only one child, but people from a large family whose parents are not that rich should not expect the same life as other person. From a smaller family, I believe in this entire social media.

As an aspiring journalist, one of the things that discouraged me from pursuing journalism was mainly computers, text, and graphics; I never knew that ten years later now as a blogger, I still need to learn them, love them, and follow them. Well, having said that, I want our children to know how to use them. I will never discourage them from using social media, but when it becomes part of everyday life for them, it then becomes exhausting, intimidating, depressing, and less hopeful. Sadly many kids will end up pregnant if they do not know what else to do with their lives. They will eventually become bored. How do I know? I was once a student.  I am still a student. I am still figuring out how to be old, in college, and have a preteen myself at home. There is so much life ahead for all of them.

Life is beautiful, wonderful, exciting, fulfilling, and it is all about how you see it, unless the distractions carry over to reality.

8 Responses

  1. It’s got to be hard raising children in the present day because of all the technology …and advertising that makes them think they do need an Cell phone and other things in order to fit in. They need to learn that they are not automatically ‘entitled’ to these things… and how to responsibly use them when they eventually do get them. Diane

    • This is the most difficult times to raise children. They have all these resources, their friends, and television. Parents should not give up. It is a hard time to raise children especially when most parents are working too. Thanks for reading

  2. Oh man, don’t even get me started on my opinion of technology and what kids have exposed to them right at their finger tips. So scary. I think it is unfortunate the generation they are growing up in. I am so glad I grew up when I did, and my parents, and grandparents are even way more fortunate. I think technology is wonderful and I am proud of our world for coming so far…. but social media drives me nuts, and I DO NOT think it is ok for children to be exposed to as much as they are. I’m going to stop now, because I can really get my soap box about this. Well said, I enjoyed reading this today. A. Burke

    • You know exactly what it is at stake here, not to take things away from other wonderful children that their parents are working so hard to protect. What about the other kids that do not even know what they want. I am so concern and I hope other people are concern too,

  3. There’s nobody like Grandma. They are very traditional and simple, yet they have shared such varying experiences which make our grandmas so memorable.

  4. My beloved Sis, I am amazed at your capacity to analyze situations. You really capture the confusion, anxiety and fears of parents over the good, the bad and the ugly effects of the computer age. Kudos as I leave this message to our children- the easiest way to live is to be who you are.

    • For those who do not know her, she is a school teacher, a principal, who has thought in different schools for many years. She knows the impacts .I thank God for the different wisdom in the world, we can help children. Thanks for reading.
      Reply

I welcome any comments

