My Advice For Those 18 Years And Under

Growing up is hard especially when it comes to making the most important life decisions. In my modest opinion, if young people can look past shortcuts, indecision, and distractions at an early age, they can set the bar high; make good decisions that won’t come back to haunt them at the end. I could have said this to myself 20 years ago.

Here is the deal:

1. There is no shortcut in life. Life is complicated, more than what we know. Therefore, do not follow any shortcut–unless there is a guarantee you are not going to make it  past 30 years of age. If  not, you will come back at 3o years  to complete the things you should have done years ago, and it is not  going to be fun. (It is almost like taking the GED at 32 years (when it becomes hard and complicated) and you might be competing with younger kids.

2 Education is good. But read for both the  knowledge and for the sake of making a living. But it will be wiser if you read for knowledge; because with knowledge, you can make better long term decisions. With knowledge, you can go places without worrying about what people think of you as long as you know what is going on. Great knowledge accompanies great success. In the end, you will end up with both.

3. Do not follow your parent’s footsteps, if they are always drunk on a Sunday morning.

4. In addition to having fun with friends, try mingling with people that have a lot to offer to you intellectually; because you may benefit from what they have to offer. But if you continue to follow people that don’t have anything good to offer you, (probably drifters), you may stop learning, and start leaning. You have to understand who your friends are; the ones who you think are good for you,

5. This might sound simple, but try things you find difficult. For example, you can take a course that you are not good at. At the end you can figure out where your strength lies because if you continue to do all the things you are good at, at the end you may not really know what it takes to face challenges. But with bigger challenges comes the easier part. At the end, you can create avenues to be better at things you consider hard.

8 Responses

  1. I think that’s very good advice…If young people get started thinking about their future young enough maybe they will go down the right path…Diane

  2. This is very good advice, and I love your sense of humor. 🙂

  3. I’ll right away take hold of your rss feed as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Kindly allow me realize so that I may subscribe.

    Thanks.

    • Thank you i will send it to my other blog. I have another blog that I will direct everyone to subscribe to .

    • I will ask everyone to subscribe to my other blog.. I have another blog. I will also re-publish this one in my other blog. Thank you for reading.

I welcome any comments

